主页spacer>软件支援>Mergemill Pro 快速入门指南

spacer

学习使用 Mergemill Pro 的一个好办法,就是逐步观察它的运作过程。安装的软件包巳包括一个简单的例子:Mergemill Pro > Mergemill Resources > Examples > 简体中文 > 简单案例。此外,这两篇重要文章也值得一读:Mergemill Pro 的连接设定有关文本编码的一些须知


概览

Mergemill 将模板的静态内容与数据馈送合并生成你想要的输出。你在模板中嵌入特殊标签,指定如何从馈送中插入内容。

模板内类似 <?[占位栏名称]?> 的标签主要以插入内容为目的。所有放置于对应的 <?Loop?> 及 <?EndLoop?> 标签之间的占位栏属于「循环内占位栏」,其余的为「循环外占位栏」。数据馈送内容插入占位栏可直接插入提取之数据值,或插入动态生成的数据值。

当你在 Mergemill Pro 设定一个合并作业,你须指定一个相关的模板,并按下一个按钮来解析它。在模板中发现的每一个新的占位栏名称,Mergemill Pro 会自动为其尸在相关作业之下添加一个任务定义,让你设定该占位栏自数据馈送提取内容的数据列,或指定数据值是如何动态地生成。

当你运行一个作业,其相关模板会被重复执行,直到用尽所有主要的数据馈送。模板每次运行时,Mergemill Pro 将模板中的所有静态内容复制到输出,并从指定的数据源提取相应的数据值来取代每个占位栏,生成完整的输出。视乎你设定的作业输出选项,当 Mergemill Pro 达到模板的终结,便会生成下列一个输出:合并后的文本转换成语音、群发自定义的合并电邮、合并后的文本存储为文档、使用合并后的数据来更新 SQL 数据源、或导出数据到 CSV 或 XML 文档。


启动

Mergemill Pro 启动后,主视窗便会出现。视窗的标题显示当前 Mergemill 文件的名称。

要启用 Mergemill Pro 的所有功能,你需要在「偏好设定」视窗内输入有效的软件授权密钥。要显示「偏好设定」视窗,在 Mac 上可选 Mergemill Pro > Preferences... 选单项目,在 Windows 上,可选 Help > Preferences... 选单项目。如没有一个有效的软件密钥,Mergemill Pro 运行时将有以下限制:

  1. 每个占位栏只会使用最多 50 个数据值。
  2. 专案的自动运行功能只运作一小时。
  3. [导入...] 按钮停用。
  4. 每个新建 Mergemill 文档只容许 [运行专案] 及 [运行作业] 按钮被使用 30 天。

请注意:未经授权的 Mergemill Pro 软件会通过读取在我们网站的日期字符串来监察 Mergemill 文件的有效期。除了这一小块数据的请求被群发到我们网站,绝对没有其他的数据传送。巳被授权密钥激活的 Mergemill Pro 除获取我们的在线文档和检查软件更新外,不会与我们的网站联系。


辅助选单项目

要了解每个用户界面元素的用途,可选择 Mergemill Pro 选单项目:「帮助 > 显示辅助提示」。如要快速查找标签语法,你可选择选单项目:「帮助 > Mergemill 标签指南」及「帮助 > 正则表达式指南」。


用户界面的输入控制

当你输入或指定设定值时,用户界面的元素和页面会被适当地启用和禁用,以免你因无关的物件而分心。例如,只有当你选择了专案作业列表上的一项作业,作业设定的页面才会被激活。同样,只有当你选择了作业任务列表上的一项任务,适当的数据馈送设定页面才会被启用。


红点除错导引

Mergemill Pro 的功能设计是要让用户轻易建立复杂的作业和其相关任务。一个例子是其「红点系统」,以提醒你在作业和任务设定的错误。只要按照红点逐一修复,你便可轻松地创建有效的作业定义。这使你可以专注於模板设计,创造有效的解决方案,解决实际问题。


Mergemill 模板

一个 Mergemill 模板包含要输出的所有静态文字,再加上 Mergemill Pro 要执行的指令标签。你当用一个简单的文本编辑器或 Adobe Dreamweaver 来创建或编辑模板,而不应使用类似 Microsoft Word 的软件应用程式,因为後者嵌入了隐藏的字符,令你的模板内看似正确的 Mergemill 标签实际上是 Mergemill Pro 无法识别的。

创建模板时应紧记所有占位栏标签皆会插入内容,无论是动态生成或从数据馈送读取的,整个处理模板的结果将是相关作业的输出。也请记住,所有作业和任务设定中的过滤、数据处理、查找替换及排序动作皆会在运行模板之前被应用到读取的数据值。

如果你编辑当前模板和再次解析它,一些占位栏可能已被删除或其名称已被更改。Mergemill Pro 不会自动删除这些占位栏的任务设定,以防你需要它们作为参考,或稍後改变主意,在模板内再次使用它们。这些占位栏名称会被加插「X:」作为标记。你可随时使用「删除休眠中的任务」按钮来删除这些占位栏任务设定。Mergemill Pro 运行作业时会略过所有处於休眠状态的任务。


生成静态网页的工作流程

  1. 工作流程应尽量有条理。先在「作业」文件夹内创建「模板」、「数据源」及「输出」子文件夹。
  2. 创建模板:
    • 制作一个样本网页,作为一个具体的输出目标,并将其复制到「模板」文件夹。
    • 决定哪些数据元素将被插入到网页内,以 Mergemill 占位栏标签取代那些部分,如 <?[城镇名称]?>,以便由数据源提供内容。
    • 加入其他所需的指令标签,如 <?Loop?>...<?EndLoop?> 及 <?If(...)?> 等,以控制如何将数据值插入。
  3. 将输出所需的辅助档案,如 GIF 图像,复制至「输出」文件夹内。Mergemill Pro 会自动创建输出文档路径中所有非现有的子文件夹,但你必须确保在生成的网页内所有超连结的正常运作。
  4. 添加一项作业,并指定修改後的样本网页为模板,然後按一下 [解析模板内容] 按钮。於模板中发现的每一个新占位栏标签名称,Mergemill Pro 会自动为其在当前作业内添加一个任务定义,让你可指定每个占位栏标签应从哪个数据馈送的哪个数据列提取内容,或指定数据值是动态生成的。
  5. 测试运行作业。Mergemill Pro 会读取数据值,进行过滤、处理及查找替换的行动,然後对数据进行排序,然後它会将所有模板的静态内容复制至你的输出,并以适当的处理後数据值取代每个占位栏标签,生成输出。
  6. 测试运行和编辑你的模板,直至达到你想要的结果。
  7. 重复步骤 2 至 6 去运行每个模板。


其他作业的工作流程

  1. 工作流程应尽量有条理。先在「作业」文件夹内创建「模板」、「数据源」及「输出」子文件夹。
  2. 制作一个输出样本,作为一个具体的输出目标。
  3. 用一个简单的文本编辑器编辑模板。
  4. 添加一项作业,并指定编辑好的模板,然後按一下 [解析模板内容] 按钮。於模板中发现的每一个新占位栏标签名称,Mergemill Pro 会自动为其在当前作业内添加一个任务定义,让你可指定每个占位栏标签应从哪个数据馈送的哪个数据列提取内容,或指定数据值是动态生成的。
  5. 测试运行作业。Mergemill Pro 会读取数据值,进行过滤、处理及查找替换的行动,然後对数据进行排序,然後它会将所有模板的静态内容复制至你的输出,并以适当的处理後数据值取代每个占位栏标签,生成输出。视乎你的作业设定,每当 Mergemill Pro 到达模板的结尾,便会产生下列其中一个输出:将合并後的文本转成语音、发送合并後的电邮、储存合并後的文档至指定位置、用处理後的数据更新 SQL 资料库或将处理後的数据汇出到制表符分隔或 CSV 或 XML 格式的文档。
  6. 测试运行和编辑你的模板,直至达到你想要的结果。
  7. 重复步骤 2 至 6 去运行每个模板。

spacer

返回页首

软件功能spacer::spacer下载专区spacer::spacer购买spacer::spacer软件支援spacer::spacer视频教程spacer::spacer标签指南spacer::spacer网站导览


版权所有 · 不得转载 © 2001-2017 Cross Culture Ltd.

Homespacer>Support>Mergemill Pro quick start guide

spacer

A good way to learn how Mergemill Pro works is to see it in action. We have produced a set of video tutorials that aim to get you easily up to speed. We've also included examples in your installed software package: Mergemill Pro > Mergemill Resources > Examples > English. In addition, the important articles Connection Settings in Mergemill Pro and Some Important Things to Know About Text Encoding are worth reading.


Overview

Mergemill merges static contents in a template with data feeds to generate your desired output. You embed special tags in the template to direct the insertion of contents from feeds you specify.

Content-insertion fields are embedded in the template in the form of the basic tag <?[FieldName]?>. The fields placed between a corresponding pair of <?Loop?> and <?EndLoop?> tags are in-loop fields, and those outside all loop tag pairs are out-loop fields. Field tags may be used to directly insert data values from feeds, or to insert values generated on-the-fly.

When you set up a merge job in Mergemill, you specify an associated template and push a button to parse it. For each new field name found in the template, Mergemill automatically adds a task to the job definition. In the task settings associated with each field, you specify the data column to be fetched, or how the values are to be generated dynamically.

When you run a job, its associated template is executed repeatedly till all primary feeds are exhausted. In each run of the template, Mergemill copies all its static contents to the output, and replaces each field tag with the appropriate data value from its specified source to generate the full output. Depending on what you set the job to do, when Mergemill reaches the end of the template each time, one of several things will happen: the merged text is converted into speech, the merged email is sent, the merged file is saved, the data are used to update an SQL data store, or the data are exported to TSV, CSV or XML files.


Start-Up

The main window appears after you start up Mergemill Pro. The window title bar shows the name of the current Mergemill document.

To enable all features of Mergemill Pro, you need to activate it by entering a valid registration key in the Preferences window. The Preferences window can be displayed by selecting the Preferences... menu item under the Mergemill Pro (Mac) or the Help (Windows) menu. Without a valid registration key, the following restrictions apply:

  1. Each merge field takes a maximum of 50 data values.
  2. Project autoruns are disabled after one hour.
  3. The Import Jobs button is disabled.
  4. The Run Project and Run Job buttons are disabled after 30 days for each newly created Mergemill document.

PLEASE NOTE: Unregistered copies of Mergemill Pro monitors the expiry date of documents by reading a date string at our site. Absolutely nothing from your computer is sent to us except the request for this little piece of data. Registered copies of Mergemill Pro does not communicate with our site, except accessing our online documentation and checking software updates.


Some Helpful Menu Items

To familiarize yourself with the purpose and use of each user interface element, turn on help tips by selecting the Mergemill Pro menu item Help > Show Help Tips. For quick syntax lookup, you may use the menu items Help > Tags Reference and Help > Regex Reference.


Entry Controls in the User Interface

As you specify your settings, items and pages are enabled and disabled appropriately so that you are not distracted by irrelevant objects. For example, the Job setting pages are activated only when you have selected a job name on the Project Job List. Likewise, appropriate Feed setting pages are enabled only when you have selected a task on the Job Task List.


Red-Dot Error Guide

Mergemill Pro was designed to make it easy for you to set up really complex jobs and their associated tasks. An example is the extensive red-dot system to alert you to errors in your job and task settings. Just follow the dots to fix them one by one and you can easily create valid jobs. This enables you to focus your effort more on template designs to create useful solutions that solve real problems.


Mergemill Templates

A Mergemill template contains all the static text to be included in the output, plus the tags to instruct Mergemill Pro on the actions to take. Prepare the template with a simple text editor or Adobe Dreamweaver. Software applications like Microsoft Word are inappropriate for creating or editing templates, because they embed invisible characters that break up what you type, such that Mergemill tags that look innocently proper on your documents are actually unrecognizable to Mergemill Pro.

When creating templates, always keep in mind that all field tags insert contents, whether generated dynamically or from data feeds, and the entire result of processing a template will be the output of the associated job. Remember also that all filter, processing, search-replace, and sorting actions specified in job and task settings are applied to the data values BEFORE the template is run.

If you have edited the current template and parsed it again, it’s possible that some field names have been changed or some fields removed. Mergemill Pro doesn’t delete the tasks for such fields just in case you want them for reference, or want to restore them in the template later. Such fields are marked with "X: " preceding their names. You may delete these fields using the Delete Dormant Tasks button anytime. Dormant tasks are ignored by Mergemill Pro when running a job.


Workflow to Generate Static Web Pages

  1. Start off organized. Create a Job folder that contains the subfolders Template, Source, and Output.
  2. Prepare the template:
    • Create a sample web page to serve as a concrete goal and copy it to the Template folder.
    • Decide which data elements are to be inserted into the page and replace those parts with Mergemill field tags, like <?[Town]?>, which serve as placeholders for the content to be provided by data feeds.
    • Insert other tags, like <?Loop?>...<?EndLoop?> and <?If(...)?> etc., where necessary to control what and how values from your feed are to be inserted.
  3. Copy all supporting files required for the output, such as GIFs, to the Output folder. Mergemill Pro will automatically create all non-existing subfolders in the paths to the output files, but you have to ensure that all hyperlinks in the generated web pages work correctly.
  4. Add a job in Mergemill Pro. Specify the modified webpage as the template and push the Parse Template File button to scan it. For each new field found in the template, Mergemill Pro automatically adds a task to the job definition. You then specify the data feed and data column to be fetched for each field in its task settings, or specify that the values are to be dynamically generated.
  5. Test run the job. Mergemill Pro gets the data values, applies the filter, processing, and search-replace actions to them, and then sorts the data. Next it copies all static content in your template to the output, and replaces each field tag with the appropriate processed data value to generate the output.
  6. Test run and edit your template till you achieve the exact result you desire.
  7. Repeat steps 2 to 6 for each template.


Workflow for Other Jobs

  1. Again, start off organized. Create a Job folder that contains the subfolders Template, Source, and Output.
  2. Create a sample output. This gives you a concrete goal.
  3. Prepare the template using a simple text editor.
  4. Add a job in Mergemill Pro. Specify an associated template and push the Parse Template File button to scan it. For each new field found in the template, Mergemill Pro automatically adds a task to the job definition. You then specify the data feed and data column to be fetched for each field in its task settings, or specify that the values are to be dynamically generated.
  5. Test run the job. Mergemill Pro gets the data values, applies the filter, processing, and search-replace actions to them, and then sorts the data. Next it copies all static content in your template to the output, and replaces each field tag with the appropriate processed data value to generate the output. Depending on what you set the job to do, when Mergemill Pro reaches the end of the template each time, one of several things will happen: the merged English text is spoken, the merged email is sent, the merged file is saved, the data is used to update an SQL data store, or the data are exported to TSV, CSV or XML files.
  6. Test run and edit your template till you achieve the exact result you desire.
  7. Repeat steps 2 to 6 for each template.

spacer

Top of Page

Featuresspacer::spacerDownloadsspacer::spacerBuy Nowspacer::spacerSupportspacer::spacerTutorialsspacer::spacerTags Guidespacer::spacerSite Map


Copyright © 2001-2017 Cross Culture Ltd. All Rights Reserved.